20161029_122025

I recently dreamed I was talking to my late Mom, and I said to her, “We trust good friends, we trust the brakes of our cars that they won’t fail just as we come to a stop in front of a woman pushing her baby in a stroller, yet we don’t trust God, whose word is permanent and unchanging, and who cannot lie, to fulfill His promises to us.”

And then I showed her this piece of petrified wood (pictured above) that I bought at a rock and gem show, which is millions of years old – the shape is unchanged through the eons; it has turned to rock. In 2 Corinthians 12:9 we read, “And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness.” Through him, we will always have sufficient strength to deal with our all challenges.

He has promised us that He will provide all our needs, according to His riches in glory. And in I Cor 10: 13 we read, “And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted [tested] beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can endure it.” So we know that, like Job, we will be able to bear whatever hardships he allows to come across our path in this life. This is how he strengthens us and helps us build our faith.

Even in the most difficult times, He has promised us “the peace that passeth all understanding.” He has promised to forgive us all our sins so that we don’t have to live with our guilt anymore:There is therefore now no condemnation to them which are in Christ Jesus, who walk not after the flesh, but after the Spirit.” Rom. 8:1

When I decided to follow Christ, I made a commitment to do His will to the best of my ability. And, every day, I see how faithful He is. he knows I’m not perfect, but he sees my heart and knows my motives and forgives me when I mess up, as long as I keep on trying. As my faith builds, I can endure more, accomplish more, and help others more.

Deciding to start believing in him and following him is the most important choice I ever made. We start with HOPE – we hope he’s real and faithful and that it will work. And over time, he starts to reveal himself in our lives and strengthen our faith, as he helps us and keeps all his promises, as long as we keep on trying our best, failing, asking forgiveness, and keeping on.

And the church that we join is supposed to help us on our journey as Christians help and support each other. There are no perfect people – no matter which church – we’re all just doing our best. Don’t judge Christ by his followers: it’s a mistake I made, too.

“The LORD also will be a refuge for the oppressed, a refuge in times of trouble. And they that know thy name will put their trust in thee: for thou, LORD, hast not forsaken them that seek thee.” Psalm 9:9

Listen to this: I walk with God

Robin Elliott   LeverageAdvantage.com

