20160606_141433

Who sets the example for you to follow? By what yardstick do you measure yourself? Who is your hero?

North Americans seem to believe everything they see in movies. For this reason, they treat their movie star “celebrities” like all-knowing savants; they believe whatever they say, take their advice, and quote them. They have yet to understand that the actor a merely human parrot regurgitating a script, acting a part, that anything remotely dangerous is performed by a stunt double. The same goes for their singers and other “entertainers.”

Taking advice from women who take off their clothes and feign sex with strangers in front of cameras and call themselves “film stars” is just plain dumb.

The sheeple are enthralled by an actor’s with a deep, throaty, genuine laugh, like that sound a dog makes just before it throws up, and a vocabulary as bad as, like, whatever. Let’s look at some of the wisdom flowing from behind those bleached, white teeth:

Arnold Schwarzenegger, who married a Kennedy and was elected as the Governor of California, no less:  “I think gay marriage is something that should be between a man and a woman.”

Mariah Carey:  “Whenever I watch TV and see those poor, starving kids all over the world, I can’t help but cry. I mean I’d love to be skinny like that, but not with all those flies and death and stuff.”

Whoopi Goldberg: “I’ve been black for 60 years!”

Britney Spears: “I get to go to lots of overseas places, like Canada.”

Brooke Shields: “Smoking can kill you. And if you’re killed, you’ve lost a very important part of your life.”

Tara Reid, proving she’d clearly “learned a little education” about sharks while doing the promotional rounds for the terrible Sharknado last year, announced: “Today I was like, ‘I don’t wanna, like, really sound stupid when I do this show today.’ So I learned a little education on sharks. So I look up sharks on the internet and I’m, like, ‘WHALE SHARKS … so that must be when a whale and a shark have sex.’ Then I think ‘Well, how does a whale and a shark have sex?’ And then I looked it up… there’s a thing called whale sharks, so I thought they must, you know… And then I realized that whales are mammals and sharks are animals, so they have nothing to do with each other …”

Keanu Reeves: “I cried over beauty, I cried over pain, and the other time I cried because I felt nothing. I can’t help it. I’m just a cliché of myself.”

Perhaps, before you take political or philosophical advice from another American “celebrity,” you should be aware of who they really are. Some, are smart and their advice is good, but there are myriad other options.Instead, find real people who have accomplished something of significance, people who are smart and wise and offer meaningful advice, who live good, wholesome lives, like Margaret Thatcher, Winston Churchill, Ayn Rand, General Patton, Stefan Molyneux, Thomas Monson, George Orwell, your church leaders, great authors and real philosophers, people who have shaped civilizations. But then again, that would mean reading books and thinking…

Robin Elliott   LeverageAdvantage.com

