zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Who is William Hutchison Murray? We are all faced with multitudinous choices daily. In my experience, every time I succeeded well and accomplished something which, in my opinion, was quite extraordinary, it was as the result of a single choice. I can trace those achievements back to a unique choice / commitment in each case.

It’s easy to dismiss an opportunity without truly examining it because of fear, insufficient information, prejudice, or bad experiences in the past which colour our perception. Wayne Dyer wrote, “The highest form of ignorance is when you reject something you don’t know anything about.” I see examples of this regularly – people talking with me about my church and the way things work in Africa, for example.

William Hutchison Murray was a mountaineer and an amazing man who accomplished much (read his fascinating biography here.) He wrote something that may well apply to your life TODAY. He wrote, “Nothing happens until you decide.” A committed decision to do the right thing can create a brand new future that can surprise one and open doors we never even knew existed!

Mr. Murray also wrote this well known piece:

“Until one is committed, there is hesitancy, the chance to draw back, always ineffectiveness. Concerning all acts of initiative (and creation), there is one elementary truth that ignorance of which kills countless ideas and splendid plans: that the moment one definitely commits oneself, then Providence moves too. All sorts of things occur to help one that would never otherwise have occurred.

A whole stream of events issues from the decision, raising in one’s favor all manner of unforeseen incidents and meetings and material assistance, which no man could have dreamed would have come his way. Whatever you can do, or dream you can do, begin it. Boldness has genius, power, and magic in it. Begin it now.”

I have found that I don’t have to know everything, I don’t have to understand everything, and I don’t have to know how I will accomplish something at the outset. My decisions are always based on a few simple criteria:

1. Does the opportunity violate my values? If so, I reject it outright.
2. The person offering the opportunity. I look for honesty and integrity, good values, consistency, reliability, track record, and my ability to get along with him.
3. Is the promised reward sufficient to get my attention?
4. The risk factor – am I able to risk losing whatever it costs me in time and money to get involved if it doesn’t work out? Is the potential reward worth the risk?
5. Is the opportunity logical to me?

Perhaps it’s time to reconsider the opportunities I have on offer? Contact me here for more information.

Robin Elliott   LeverageAdvantage.com

