12342832_171673486519319_6503548229147533493_n

This excellent little poem by Shel Silverstein reveals why many never attain financial freedom:

HELP!

I walked through the wild wood, and what did I see
But a unicorn with his horn stuck in a tree,
Crying, “Someone please help me before it‘s too late.”
I hollered, “I’ll free you.”
He hollered back, “Wait–
How much will it hurt? How long will it take?
Are you sure that my horn will not scratch, bend, or break?
How hard will you pull? How much must I pay?
Must you do it right now or is Wednesday okay?
Have you done this before? Do you have the right tools?
Have you graduated from horn-saving school?
Will I owe you a favor? And what will it be?
Do you promise that you will not damage the tree?
Should I close my eyes? Should I sit down or stand?
Do you have insurance? Have you washed your hands?
And after you free me–tell me what then?
Can you guarantee I won’t get stuck again?
Tell me when. Tell me how.
Tell me why. Tell me where….”
I guess that he’s still sitting there.

When people are stuck in the revolving door of debt, doubt, and desperation, the way out to to accept the guidance of someone who knows the way out. Paralysis of analysis is what this poor unicorn had, and in a years time, he will still be sitting there, whining and waiting and blaming and complaining, when he could be cruising the oceans and enjoying his freedom.

If you’re stuck, perhaps this will help you to freedom.

Robin Elliott LeverageAdvantage.com

