20151121_132808An Employee’s Lament

“Alas, I have never bought anything with money; everything that I have was bought with precious pieces if time that I sold from my life. I sold them to a job that will never have paid enough when my time is up.

“And instead of giving these pieces of time to my children so that I can watch them play sports or to my wife so that we can enjoy cherished time together, I sell them to my job, so that I can just survive another month, pay another bill, meet the material needs of my family.

“And when I am uncomfortable with the things I have to do to keep my job, I have to subordinate my conscience, violate my values, and say, “Yes, sir!” I have to smile at customers who treat me like dirt and endure the tirades and slights of bosses who often have less brains and integrity than common criminals.

“I regularly lose a peaceful night’s sleep worrying about keeping my job, getting a badly needed pay raise, or avoiding getting downsized or laid off or accepting a lower wage because of ‘tough economic times.’

“I wish I could break free and work for myself, get paid what my efforts and skills are worth, make my own choices, give my family the lifestyle they so dearly deserve and the time that is their right, but, you know, ‘better the devil you know than the devil you don’t know…’ I am often offered opportunities to start my own business on a part time basis with little cost or risk, but I don’t trust those ‘entrepreneur’ types.

“Maybe, one day, when I’m ready. But right now, I have to go back to work. I’ll miss my daughter’s first ballet performance and I’ll be home late, but one has to do what one has to do…”

– Robin Elliott LeverageAdvantage.com

ENTREPRENEUR’S CREDO

I do not choose to be a common man,
It is my right to be uncommon … if I can,
I seek opportunity … not security.
I do not wish to be a kept citizen.
Humbled and dulled by having the
State look after me.
I want to take the calculated risk;
To dream and to build.
To fail and to succeed.
I refuse to barter incentive for a dole;
I prefer the challenges of life
To the guaranteed existence;
The thrill of fulfillment
To the stale calm of Utopia.
I will not trade freedom for beneficence
Nor my dignity for a handout
I will never cower before any master
Nor bend to any threat.
It is my heritage to stand erect.
Proud and unafraid;
To think and act for myself,
To enjoy the benefit of my creations
And to face the world boldly and say:
This, with God’s help, I have done
All this is what it means
To be an Entrepreneur.”

― Thomas Paine, Common Sense, 1776

