11076133_455097814642392_1343411497_n

After watching seven seasons of the Shield, I think one thing Vic Mackie, the strong, lead role said, that really described him best, was, “I don’t do ‘IF’ – I only do ‘WHEN.’” And in the Dark Knight, the Batman movie, the Joker says, “What doesn’t kill you makes you stranger.” Self confidence is the hallmark of a string character.

When people have the option to deal with those who have strong characters, we should know that they can be our best friend or our worst enemy. Strong characters won’t be manipulated and they will not be micro-managed or messed around, especially by those who are weaker than they are. And that’s why they’re often set up as the fall guy, since they’re a direct threat to those who fear exposure and the dishonest status quo.

Strong characters get things done. My favourite saying is, “Talk is cheap, but money buys the whiskey.” I don’t suffer fools lightly, I’m not politically correct, I stand up for what I believe in, and I don’t fear people or their opinions. So when you deal with me, I need to be able to work alone and I need flexibility and freedom. Don’t bring me your silly little rules and restrictions if you want to work with me.

Most people think they can ride on the backs of strong characters, take advantage of them, and use them. They are in for a rude awakening. You don’t get to ride for long on the back of a predator, even if you’re a bloodsucking tick / politician / looter. Carl von Clausewitz wrote,”Courage, above all things, is the first quality of a warrior.” A wolf doesn’t lose sleep over the opinions of sheep. Churchill, Snowden (WikiLeaks), Patton, Joseph Smith, Thatcher, Trump, Putin, Ayn Rand, all were / are warriors.

Pioneers, early adopters, leaders, innovators can change your life if you understand how to work with them. They’re often sensitive but seldom show that side of themselves, and they are usually loyal and reliable. Which brings me back to Vic Mackie. He was portrayed as someone who was good to his family, loyal to those in his team who were loyal to him, fearless, the most productive in his group, and a dangerous enemy. Those who understood him benefited. They knew he wouldn’t change or be tamed. He was a loner.

Richard Dawkins said of the genius Chris Hitchens, “Christopher Hitchens was a great warrior, a magnificent orator, a pugilist and a gentleman. He was kind, but he took no prisoners when arguing with idiots.” I was privileged to communicate with Hitch on a certain subject. Strong people are direct, maintain high standards and are very clear on their values: “I don’t read books by people who have betrayed the Motherland.” ~ Vladimir Putin

The Bible and the Book of Mormon are full of examples of strong characters.

Robin Elliott LeverageAdvantage.com

