20150909_104936

When you get to a place where you have done all you can, and still it feels like your world is collapsing about you, there is ultimately only one hope left. Many of us have been in that place of personal depletion and anguish, where we feel like we have run out of options and hope.

When I have found myself in that place I have known that my only hope is in God’s grace and sovereignty. The hymn, “Abide with Me” written in 1847 by Henry F. Lyte, really sums up that situation, in which he refers to God as “Help of the helpless,” the One who never changes, and his Guide through life. This hymn is full of hope.

While the hymn seems sad and dreary, the lyrics encourage us to accept that God is God, and that in Him there is always meaning and purpose, hope and perspective. Only with Him can we successfully negotiate life’s often painful and difficult journey with its twists and turns, ups and downs, happiness and sadness. I encourage you to watch this wonderful, short video, “Hope you know, we had a hard time.” We are safe in His loving arms.

Abide with Me

1. Abide with me; fast falls the eventide;
The darkness deepens; Lord, with me abide;
When other helpers fail and comforts flee,
Help of the helpless, oh, abide with me.

2. Swift to its close ebbs out life’s little day;
Earth’s joys grow dim, its glories pass away;
Change and decay in all around I see—
O Thou who changest not, abide with me.

3. I need Thy presence every passing hour;
What but Thy grace can foil the tempter’s pow’r?
Who, like Thyself, my guide and stay can be?
Through cloud and sunshine, Lord, abide with me.

4. I fear no foe, with Thee at hand to bless;
Ills have no weight, and tears no bitterness;
Where is death’s sting? Where, grave, thy victory?
I triumph still, if Thou abide with me.

5. Hold Thou Thy cross before my closing eyes;
Shine through the gloom and point me to the skies;
Heav’n’s morning breaks, and earth’s vain shadows flee;
In life, in death, O Lord, abide with me.

There IS hope, and remember the advice he gave in that video: “Find someone else who is having a hard time, and help them.”

Robin Elliott LeverageAdvantage.com

