ZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

It wasNovember 1973, and Scot Halpin, a 19-year-old, scalped tickets to The Who concert in San Francisco. Keith Moon, the drummer, had a case of the nerves. When he vomited before the concert, he took some tranquilizers to calm down. The drugs worked all too well. During the show, Moon’s drumming became slow, then, halfway through “Won’t Get Fooled Again,” he slumped onto his drums. Moon was unconscious. While the roadies tried to bring him back to form, The Who played as a trio. The drummer returned, but only briefly and collapsed again, this time heading off to the hospital to get his stomach pumped.

Scot Halpin was watching the action from near the stage. Years later, he said, “my friend got real excited when he saw that Moon was going to pass out again. He started telling the security guy, you know, this guy can help out. And all of a sudden, out of nowhere comes Bill Graham,” the great concert promoter. Graham asked Halpin straight up, “Can you do it?,” and Halpin shot back “yes.”

When Pete Townshend asked the crowd, “Can anybody play the drums?” Halpin mounted the stage, settled into Moon’s drum kit, and began confidently playing the blues jam “Smoke Stacked Lighting” that soon segued into “Spoonful.” It was a way of testing the kid out. Then came a nine minute version of “Naked Eye.” By the time it was over, Halpin was physically exhausted.

The show ended with Roger Daltrey, Pete Townshend, John Entwistle and Scot Halpin taking a bow center stage. To thank him for his efforts, The Who gave him a concert jacket. See video here.

As the genius Ian Anderson wrote in the lyrics of Jethro Tull’s “Thick as a Brick,” “I really don’t mind if you sit this one out…” But here’s my point: you have to step up, put yourself on the line, raise your hand, take a risk, and jump onto the stage, because this time, it could change your life. This could be the big one you’ve been waiting for. And you have to be as thick as a brick to think you don’t have to get up, dress up, and show up if you want to take up life’s wonderful opportunities of abundance.

We’re surrounded by opportunities – you just have to pick the one that ‘s right for you. You have to be ready and available. Scot Halpin took one hell of a risk offering to play the drums for The Who, but it paid off.

I took a chance too, once, when I was 14. I advertised myself in a music store as a drummer available to play for money in a band, and a band took me up on my offer. I was self taught. When they started to play, I was so useless that a member of the audience stepped up and played my drums for me, while I sat and sipped a coke at one of the tables. It didn’t stop me, though, because the next band took pity on me and taught me and helped me and I ended up playing with them in clubs and at events. I made some money and had the time of my life, because I was determined to play in a band, and I kept bouncing back.

If you want something, make yourself available. Say “YES” to opportunities. Believe in yourself. Have an abundance outlook instead of one of scarcity and fear. The great winners in life are the contrarians, the adversaries of the status quo, the so-called “conspiracy theorists,” the rebels, the innovators, the wierdos. They run east when the rat race stumbles westward west. They buy when others sell. And they get rich and successful, and… happy. You won’t get rich hiding under your bed smoking pot.

Robin Elliott LeverageAdvantage.com

20150221_110803

