20140617_145017

Do do all the things you dreamed of? To live and travel and love and experience and achieve? Do you feel, like Dr. Seuss, “How did it get so late so soon?” Well, I have some good news for you. Time, like age, is a perception, a mental construct, an interpretation, and often an incorrect one. You have more than you may think to make all your dreams come true.

J.R.R. Tolkien, in The Fellowship of the Ring, wrote, “I wish it need not have happened in my time,” said Frodo. “So do I,” said Gandalf, “and so do all who live to see such times. But that is not for them to decide. All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us.” Often, things don’t take as long as we may imagine, and we always have a choice – to change. It may not be, counter to your imaginings, perhaps, too late! We have choices.

Read Jarod Kintz: “Just because I liked something at one point in time doesn’t mean I’ll always like it, or that I have to go on liking it at all points in time as an unthinking act of loyalty to who I am as a person, based solely on who I was as a person. To be loyal to myself is to allow myself to grow and change, and challenge who I am and what I think. The only thing I am for sure is unsure, and this means I’m growing, and not stagnant or shrinking.” Perhaps we need to rethink our choices and what our real options are, and time shrinks or expands according to one’s courage. Remember that.

If we take a good, hard, objective, Out-of-the-Box look at our circumstances and options, if we think, “What would I do if there were no consequences, if no-one was looking, if I didn’t know anyone in the world and no-one knew me, if my life was a dream? What could I do if I didn’t fear failure and the opinions of others?” How would your perceptions and options change then?

Eric Roth, in The Curious Case of Benjamin Button Screenplay, wrote these amazing, enlightening words: “For what it’s worth: it’s never too late or, in my case, too early to be whoever you want to be. There’s no time limit, stop whenever you want. You can change or stay the same, there are no rules to this thing. We can make the best or the worst of it. I hope you make the best of it. And I hope you see things that startle you. I hope you feel things you never felt before. I hope you meet people with a different point of view. I hope you live a life you’re proud of. If you find that you’re not, I hope you have the courage to start all over again.” It just takes guts to leave the ruts of “no’s” and “buts.”

Talk with those who achieved the dreams you dream of, and perhaps discarded. And if, as they say, 97% of our dreams can be achieved and our comfort and happiness increased with money, it needn’t take as long as your previous programming persuaded you. To make the money you need. Remember, time shrinks or expands in proportion to one’s courage.

Robin Elliott   Leverageadvantage.com

