20150208_151930

A client of mine in Alberta told me today during his coaching season that at least ten men show up at his business every day, many of them in tears, begging for any job they can get – even at minimum wage. The declining oil prices are having an effect around the world, – and especially in North American provinces and states where their economies rely in large part on oil.

Layoffs, downsizing, and outsourcing can wreak havoc, but they can also open new doors.

Does this sound familiar? TWO SCENARIOS:
1. You get up early, grab a bite to eat, rush off to work, perhaps endure a tiring commute, work hard all day, get home tired, grab dinner, deal with the spouse and kids if you have any, watch TV, fall asleep. Worry about money.
2. You wake up, search the Want Ads on the Internet or in the newspapers, send off a few resumes, perhaps knock on a few doors, make some calls. Worry about money.

In the first scenario, although people are behind the eight ball financially and we know we have to do something about it, whether we are in our own business or a job, we’re tired, impatient, and super skeptical. We don’t have the time, energy, or patience to consider new options and opportunities – we’re just trying to survive.

In the second scenario, however, we have time on our hands. And we have a pressing need: were hungry. We’re more open minded, more readily prepared to consider alternatives. There’s an urgency. And that can make all the difference.

When I first got into business at the age of 34, I hated my job and the kind of people I was forced to associate with at work. I was desperate, hungry. Plus, I was newly remarried and I had a new wife that I felt I needed to prove myself to. My level of motivation was high. And so I succeeded. When they say that enthusiasm on fire is much more powerful than intelligence on ice, they’re 100% correct.

In most cases, success in business is not about connections, education, or experience – it’s really all about how badly you want to succeed – how hungry you are. A starving man will walk through fire and fight tigers to get to food. When you’re too comfortable, there’s a good chance you’re addicted to that comfort. There’s a chance that you’re arrogant and unwilling to consider alternatives. But then the wolf is clawing at the door, chances are you’re ready to lock and load. Think about it.

I like talking to those hungry people – I have solutions for them.

Robin Elliott LeverageAdvantage.com

