20140902_090400

We were in a hospital waiting room today when a young man, probably in his mid twenties, asked Rika where he could find water to drink. Rika directed him to the vending machines and the canteen. He came back and announced loudly that there were no cups to drink from in the washroom and no drinking fountain, and he was too broke to buy bottled water. Of course a kind soul across from us came over and gave him money to buy bottled water.

Soon afterwards, I was due for my midday medication, so I popped into the washroom, cupped my hand and drank from the tap like I always do. Why would I waste money on bottled water like a namby-pamby metrosexual girlie-boy, when we have perfectly clean water in our taps in Canada?

I pity this excuse for a man if he ever found himself in a real life situation. What, pray tell, would he do if he ran out of toilet tissue? As a boy, my family couldn’t always afford toilet tissue, so one of my chores was to crumple and rub old newspapers until they were soft enough to be deemed “bum ready.” And if I didn’t have enough to eat, I would grab my pellet gun and go shoot a few birds, clean them, and cook them over a fire in the bush.

I didn’t grow up with the entitlement mentality with which far too many of our young people are afflicted. I understood that if I wanted something, I had to go out and get it.

These days, every second kid seems to be diagnosed with some “disorder” or disability. I think a lot of it is the “naughtiness disorder” or the “excuse disability”that will be healed almost instantly with a good hiding. But a man in the US received a suspended sentence and was fined $200 for “forcing his child to walk a mile to school,” so I would probably be charged with child abuse.

Too many people are too lazy, too spoilt, and too dishonest. They suck on the teat of their collectivist governments and blame all and sundry for their slothfulness. It’s time to man up. Time to make people accountable. Time to lead by example in business and politics and life. Time to take the moral high ground. But for that, Thatcheresque courage is required.

No wonder Russia is laughing at America; Putin is filmed in his propaganda movies swimming icy lakes, shooting animals, and practicing karate and judo, while the androgynous, “lead from behind” smoker Obama is seen in this video doing a series of lunges and grimacing in pain while holding 3 pound weights. What a role model! He can’t stand his ground and he has lost the trust and respect of the whole world. Not surprising he has a 40% approval rating America while Putin enjoys 90% in Russia. What would Churchill have done? What would Romney or Reagan do? What would Ian Smith have done?

At the end of the day, a pride of lions led by a dog will lose, whereas a group of dogs led by a lion can win. President Thomas S. Monson said, “Let us have the courage to defy the consensus, the courage to stand for principle. Courage, not compromise, brings the smile of God’s approval. Courage becomes a living and an attractive virtue when it is regarded not only as a willingness to die manfully, but also as a determination to live decently. A moral coward is one who is afraid to do what he thinks is right because others will disapprove or laugh. Remember that all men have their fears, but those who face their fears with dignity have courage as well.”

See “5 Times Obama Spoke Loudly and Carried a Tiny Stick” HERE

Robin Elliott LeverageAdvantage.com

