20140514_111823

During a visit to with the Queen of the Netherlands in 1952, President McKay, the then leader of the Mormon Church, and his wife had 30 minutes scheduled, and at the end of the thirty minutes he thanked the Queen and began to leave.

“Mr. McKay,” said the Queen, “sit down! I have enjoyed this thirty minutes more than I have enjoyed any thirty minutes in a long time. I just wish you would extend our visit a little longer.” He sat down again and a coffee table was brought in, and the Queen poured three cups of tea, giving one to President McKay, one to his wife, and keeping one for herself.

When she noticed that neither of her guests drank the tea, she asked, “Won’t you have a little tea with the Queen?” President McKay explained, “I must tell you that our people do not believe in drinking stimulants, and we think tea is a stimulant.” She said, “I am the Queen of the Netherlands. Do you mean to tell me that you won’t have a little drink of tea, even with the Queen of the Netherlands?”

President McKay responded, “Would the Queen of the Netherlands ask the leader of [millions of] people to do something that he teaches his people not to do?” “You are a great man,” she said. “I wouldn’t ask you to do that.”

Then there is the story about a young boy who decided to be an apprentice in one of the carpenters’ societies. He was a bright young boy in his teens, and the men were very glad to admit him. They said, “Come on, let’s drink to the entrance of this young man to our group!” They handed him a glass of beer.

He said, “No, thank you, I do not drink.” “Well,” said a gruff old member, “we’re not going to have any nondrinkers in our group!” “Well,” said the boy, you’ll have one if you have me.” Another seized him by the collar and said, “Young man, you’ll have this beer either inside or outside!”

“Very well,” said the young boy, “I came here with a clean jacket and a clear conscience. You may soil my jacket if you wish, But you shall not soil my character.”

Do you stand up for what you believe in? As the world sinks to ever lower standards, where everyone is more and more “politically correct,” and where free speech is being squashed like a bug, do you have the courage of your convictions? It has been said that the only thing most people really fear is the opinions of other people, and that is a sad state of affairs. “What will others think and say of me?” I care more about what my God says and what the man in the mirror says. To thine own self be true.

Robin Elliott LeverageAdvantage.com

