20140713_085736

Before church this morning, I attended a gun show. I like the kind of people who show up at these events – they’re real men. And to me, guns are about perfect engineering, strength, independence, taking responsibility, defending our loved ones, skill, and being “real” – honesty. There’s nothing superficial and unnecessary about a gun – every part has a distinct purpose. Integrity. Congruence.

I love the Led Zeppelin hit, “Stairway to Heaven.” It reminds me that we all have our own perceptions of what heaven is, and that goes for the afterlife as well as this life. What are your dreams, hopes, objectives? Are you building your own little heaven on earth? I think we would all like to do that, and we spend a lot of time doing so.

The stairway (or bridge) that we build to make our dreams come true could include exercise, business, a job, money, a special relationship, charity work, a church calling, building a happy family and community. It requires hard work, persistence, planning, teamwork, delegation, self discipline.

But the one thing that will sabotage and undermine your stairway and have it collapse is this thing called being “Politically Correct.” It’s really statist talk for weakness, fear, cowardice, compromise, and collectivism. You can’t afford the passive aggressive Mr. Nice Guy approach if you want to build real and lasting success in any venture.

I’m not about to sugar coat anything, because I’m not Willy Wonka. I don’t have a chocolate factory. I’m not about to bend to peer pressure or to lower my standards to meet those of the world around me. If you don’t stand for something, as Ayn Rand so astutely described in The Fountainhead and Atlas Shrugged, you’ll fall for anything.

Strong people build hard and they succeed. They don’t placate, please, or plead. They stand up for what they believe in and they MAKE their dreams come true. They’re true to their callings and their values. They’re not looking for acceptance or acknowledgement. They know that only dead fish swim with the stream, and that kites fly higher against the wind. Read “1984.” Champions focus on their goals and work hard until they succeed.

I surround myself with mentors and partners who share my goals and values and I nurture those relationships. I feed my eagles and I starve the turkeys. I don’t burn the bridges to compromise and decline – I BOMB them. I scrape the naysayers and saboteurs off the bottom of my shoe. My goals and focus are clear and they pull me like a giant magnet.

Like a gun, a good team works together with a clear purpose – there is no place in my life for parasites, posers, parrots, potheads, or peacocks – only producers.

Robin Elliott LeverageAdvantage.com

